Photo Challenge: Numbers

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/photo-challenges/numbers-2/

I wasn’t sure I had anything that would go along with this week’s theme of Numbers, but then I remembered this one:

phone 4

 

I took this last year, during an outing with my photography group. The idea was to take everyday objects and use them in our photos, or to photograph them in odd and unusual ways. It’s sort of hard for me to do odd and unusual, so . . . yeah.

Then I found this one. I ran across this sign in a back alley in my home town – I think it’s from the 1940s or 50s, back when all the downtown buildings had businesses on the first AND second floors, and things were still thriving. Now, of course, this old sign – this little piece of history – is just a board over a broken window.

sign

15 thoughts on “Photo Challenge: Numbers

  1. Regarding the rotary phone image–there are many (of a certain age) who will not know what it is… 🙂

  2. Pingback: Numbers (Blitzkrieg Memorial) | What's (in) the picture?

  3. Love the rotary phone. My granddaughter wanted this type phone for Christmas when she was 16. I think she still has it and it works. They remind me of my mother who reluctantly gave in to a new phone in her 80s. She always felt she could hear more clearly on her rotary. I have been thinking of picking one up myself. There is much beauty in the ordinary when we open out eyes. Have a beautiful day!

  4. Nicely done, Robyn. You have a good eye for these things. Photographers always see things that the common man doesn’t see.

  5. Retro entry for this week’s challenge – love the rotary phone; makes me want to see more of your work as a photographer.

    I’ll be following you from now on. Have an amazing day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

