Weekly Photo Challenge: Rule of Thirds

I’m so excited – all those funky off-center shots with the blurred backgrounds, filling up space on my hard drive, can be put to good use this week! Seriously – I never knew there was a technical term for them. Bokeh. I will remember this. Though I don’t think I’ve ever set out to intentionally use the rule of thirds in my photography before, I will definitely be thinking about how to incorporate it in the future. Like everything else, I’m sure it requires much practice.

So here are some attempts at this (though I didn’t know it at the time) from last summer: Some are more successful than others. I think the first one is too centered still.

white flowers 2One of the many wildflowers that were blooming last September.

thistle 1

A moth, resting on a thistle.

thistles hiding

I love this one – two thistles hiding in the thicket. Like two little kids playing hide and seek. I spent a long time getting that shot exactly right. 🙂

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/rule-of-thirds/

Leave a Reply

